Home / Events / 10th Anniversary Dinner

10th Anniversary Dinner


25 October 2014 was a night to remember with our 10 year anniversary celebration dinner. About 40 of us enjoyed the delights of Brown’s for a night of great conversation and lots of laughs! To get us started Fi Mackenzie (with help from her very able assistant, Gordon Faulkner) regaled us with tales of how ERN came into being… still the indestructible orange shirts live on … although we’re all just a little bit glad that the club colours have changed from ‘You’ve been Tango’d’ illumination to something a little more befitting! You can find more about this by reading In the beginning…

One highlight of the evening was the annual club prize-giving. This year our prizes were made especially for us by Derring-Do-Medals and they immediately became prized possessions for our very fitting winners. Big thanks must go to all you who took the time and effort to put forward such a wide selection of nominations and your reasons for nominating; we couldn’t have awards without you. The awards are intended to celebrate individual achievements together with recognising those who really embrace and demonstrate the things we all love about ERN. The winners were (drumroll maestro please) …

Hasslehof award; to Sharon Smith who has demonstrated that she is up for a bit of muppetry and good for a laugh.
Best improver male and female: Sid Bratley and Myvanwy Fenton-May on some stellar performances this year.
Best overall performance male and female: This award does not necessarily mean that the winner has come high up in a race or done something ‘epic’. It is also awarded for for raising charity money, overcoming injury or just overcoming their fear. The awards were hard fought and went to Andrew Simpson and two awards for women (we couldn’t decide!), Jo Vinall and Tracy Lazenby-Paterson.
Best supporter e.g. family member or friend who turns up and cheers us on. Nicola Mclean thanks for being there!
Best race face; could be at the finish line or during a race. Nicely demonstrated by David Hope.
Involvement Award: for example, someone who has entered a number of events, is always there at training sessions and/or generally enthusiastic. The lovely Elly Mackenzie was a deserved winner.
Best excuse award: those folks who continually come up with excuses for either not training or not showing up for some other (silly) reason … No excuse for this one Michael Joyce!
Most inclusive runner: to Murdo Macleod who always encourages others along and ensures that they are welcomed and ‘looked after’.
Most ‘sportsmanlike’ or should we say … ‘sportswomanlike! None other than Rachel Moir

If that wasn’t enough, Natalie Vinall helped us ‘put a sock in it’ with spot prizes – just because we like to! And …if that wasn’t enough … we also took this opportunity to say a very big thank you to the current members of the Full ERN Committee for all their hard work and commitment in keeping the club going, organising the 10 events we’ve had over the year to celebrate our 10 years in existence and generally being ‘good eggs’!

Thank to Mike Russell for organising and also to all of you who came along and made it a night to remember – see you next year!

Chris (Chair)

Check Also

The 6th Annual ERN LP Run – 2015

2015 23 Aug The 6th Annual LP Run Race Report Thanks to the fabulous support …

Leave a Reply